A few weeks ago, I met a woman at a Networking event – Dr. Blessing Anyatonwu of Earnest Holistic Health.  We chatted for a bit, and exchanged contact information.  As soon as I got back home that evening, I shot off a quick email to each of the folks I’d met that evening.  Out of about 8 or 9 people, only 2 responded, and Blessing was one of them.

A week or so later, I got an invitation from Blessing – she was organizing a Fall Health Fair, and was looking for a Skin Care vendor, and she had been kind enough to think of me and Mary Kay.  Not having done one of these before, I was eager to give it a go!

I don’t think I could have chosen a more perfect day for an outdoor Health Fair at a Farmer’s Market!  The morning was deliciously cool when I arrived at 7 to set up my ginormous (10′ x 20′) pavilion.  Turns out that I was going to be situate underneath one of the permanent structures, so I wasn’t going to need my own.  I left it sitting out, though, in case someone else might need it.

Not having acquired a tablecloth yet, I went to the nearby 24-hour big box store (where I don’t usually shop).  I thought I might find something in the Hallowe’en section, since I was looking for a black tablecloth.  No luck, but oddly enough, right next to it I found a set of black microfiber bed sheets for only $8.  Perfect!  In the party section, I found some bright and shiny pink stars to add some color to my table.

Then I went back to the farmer’s market to get my table set up.  The sheets worked out very well – the fitted sheet actually fit onto the folding table quite nicely, and the flat sheet provided a good cover across the front (with 3 of the pink stars pinned to it), and they had a nice sheen to them.  I set up my product display, my drawing for a free pedicure set and some information on the Mary Kay opportunity.

By that time, it became apparent that at least one or two other vendors would benefit from the shade provided by my pavilion, so we set about getting it put up (it’s not an easy little pop-up tent, it actually requires some time and effort).  By the time we were done, it was past the 9AM start time for both the market and the health fair, although there weren’t very many people there just yet.

I found myself in between a very large Scentsy booth (with lots of yummy smells that made me hungry!) and a nice young couple selling Soap Nuts (natural laundry detergent).  I know they were nice, because he volunteered to help set up the pavilion (even though he wasn’t going to use it) and she gave me a free sample.  :^D

Towards the end of the day, one of the other vendors, Dr. Chad Denman (who works with his identical twin, Dr. Shelby Denman) of Family Tree Dental Group came around and chatted for a bit.  They’ve only been open about 3 weeks, and I wish them the very best in their goal of having a small, intimate, family-friendly dental practice!

I got a few new contacts, and probably at least 2 new customers, although I didn’t actually manage to set any appointments today.  All in all, though, it was a perfect Fall day, and I’m glad I got to spend the morning outdoors in the fresh air!

