I’m coming to realize that I don’t seem to know how to talk to (most) women.  I’m sure it’s just me, and now that I’m aware of it, I can work on it, but it’s awkward for me, really.

Throughout my entire life, I have always found it much easier and more natural to relate to and interact with males.  Most of my closest friends have been male – straight as well as gay.  It’s been the very rare female with whom I have felt truly comfortable.  This is something that I REALLY want to change, especially with regards to my various business ventures.  I mean, as a Beauty Consultant, I really NEED to be able to establish a strong connection with women.

I was at Costco the other day, and I asked the guy who was selling the fresh mussels a question.  Next thing I knew, it was 5 minutes later and we’d just had a little Native-Austinite-old-home-week.  As I walked away with a smile on my face (and a matching one on his), I found myself wondering why I can’t seem to make those kinds of connections with women.

I’ve been paying more attention to just how I talk with men.  I’m comfortable, at ease, even slightly flirtatious.  I’m a touchy-feely person by nature, so I’m often reaching out to put my hand on a shoulder, a hand, an arm – or a knee if it’s closer – whether it’s a light touch or a light squeeze.  I hug and kiss most of my friends.  I find it easy to listen, to engage in conversation, to ask questions that will draw them out, to find some sort of common ground.  I’m trying to incorporate that into my interactions with women, but I’m acutely aware of how awkward I feel inside, and I’m certain that the women I interact with can sense it.  I want to feel – and be – more natural.

Again, I’m sure it’s just me.  I just need to get out there and practice more.  But, of course, it’s safer and more comfortable to sit in here and write about it that to actually get out there and do it…

Another challenge I’m facing is something I was made aware of in this article: I’m horrible at follow-up.  I have the best intentions, and when I miss following up with someone, I get embarrassed, so I put it off even longer until it gets to the point of beyond ridiculous.  So I’m making a new resolution to get better at this skill.  I’ll let you know how it goes…  If I don’t follow-up on this post – CALL ME ON IT!  I need to be held accountable.

