I’ve decided to take on a 30 Day Blog Challenge, with a new topic every day.  I’m not entirely certain where this will take me, or how it will turn out, but it should be an interesting thing to jump into…

Today’s subject was supposed to be “Personal Relationship,” but I decided to make that a plural, for a variety of reasons.

I assume this was intended to discuss one’s romantic situation, and frankly, that’s not something I’m prepared to do in this forum.  I have a LiveJournal account, and if you know me well enough to know my username on there, then you know me well enough to be privy to that information.

For this forum, I will say that I have a wide range of relationships with a wide range of people, and they’re all Personal to me in one way or another.  The two most important relationships I have are with my daughters – they mean the world to me, and I would do anything to ensure their safety and well-being.

Another important relationship in my life is the one I share with my mother.  I want to do as much as I can for her as she ages and faces more challenges in her daily life.  And there’s my sister.  She lives almost an hour away, and we don’t see each other as much as we did when we were living together as children, or working for the same company as young adults.  We have very different views on a lot of things, but we will always be sisters, and we will always do our best to be there for one another – I find that comforting.

And then there are my friends.  While I use the word “friend” somewhat casually in conversation, I must say there are really very few people that I consider Close Friends.  One of my friends said something negative about another one of my friends a couple months ago – they don’t especially get along – and I felt compelled to come to his defense.  I don’t have a huge number of people in my life that I’m confident would answer the phone and jump through whatever hoops might be necessary in order to “be there” for me if I had a need to call at 3:00 in the morning, but this guy is one of them (even though I also know that he’d be complaining loudly about it the entire time).  The one making the original insult?  I don’t know if I could count him on that list – it would truly be a guessing game if I ever did have to make that call…

And acquaintances – I’ve got loads and loads of those, from all different walks of life.  Some of them I’d really like to be able to get to know a lot better, and eventually be able to truly count among my friends.  Others I wish I could forget about and never deal with them again, but due to circumstances, I have to deal with them on occasion.

So those are a great many of the relationship I consider “Personal”.  I hope it wasn’t too vague…

