Note: I started writing this on the 2nd.  It is now the 7th.  I don’t think I’m doing too well on this 30 Day Blog Challenge – at least not if the challenge is intended to have you write something every day.  Oh, well.  On to the current topic.

Guilty pleasures.  Those things we enjoy even though we’re not “supposed” to.  The things that don’t fit our image of ourselves or our image of how we’d like other people to see us.

In general, I despise the entire “Reality TV” genre.  It all seems so contrived, and it caters to the lowest common denominator.  That being said, I found myself reluctantly and thoroughly enjoying Project Runway while it was still on Bravo.  I didn’t much care for the interpersonal dramas, but I found it fascinating to watch the creative process in action.  Since then, I’ve added a few other “reality” competition shows to the list of things I’ll watch (or, in one case, seek out): Top Chef (in spite of the fact that it drives me crazy that I can’t taste the food!); RuPaul’s Drag Race (ooh, girl!); Queer Eye for the Straight Guy; and Trading Spaces among them.  So there’s one guilty pleasure.

Another would have to be the occasional trashy romance novel.  I usually stick to sci-fi and fantasy, although I’ve recently gotten onto a rather serious Sherlock Holmes kick, and I’ve been reading several Classics that I can get for free on my Kindle.  But every now and then, I just want to read something that has very little substance or connection to reality – what I like to call “mind candy.”

I’d have to say my biggest guilty pleasure, though, is coffee.  Not because the coffee by itself is necessarily bad, but I like it VERY sweet, and VERY creamy, and when I drink it, I drink a LOT of it.  It does bad things to my blood sugar, it does bad things to my waistline, and if I drink that much sweet and creamy coffee every day, it does bad things to my tummy.

