Today’s challenge is to put my iPod on shuffle and list the first 10 songs that come up.  I don’t have an iPod, but I do have a music player on my phone, so I’m going to use that instead.  As you can see, I have rather eclectic musical tastes.  Also, “old” musical tastes might be appropriate, as I don’t think anything on this list is younger than at least 20 years old. Okay, maybe #4 is a bit younger, but not by much!!!  Maybe it’s time to get some newer music into the player???

1.   Nat King Cole – Smoke Gets In Your Eyes

2.   Irish Rovers – Finnegan’s Wake

3.   Eric Clapton with Luciano Pavarotti – Holy Mother

4.   Sarah Mclachlan – Possession

5.   Clandestine – Babylon

6.   Wynton Marsalis Big Band – Take The “A” Train

7.   Vangelis – Love Theme From “Bladerunner”

8.   Margaret Whiting and Johnny Mercer – Baby, It’s Cold Outside (this is absolutely my favorite version of this song – commonly and incorrectly attributed to Doris Day and Bing Crosby)

9.   Barry White – You Are My Lady

10.   Peter Gabriel – Red Rain

This is kind of fun, so I’m going to keep going…

11.   Velvet Hammer – To Be (these are dear friends of mine, prior to changing their band name to Dreamtrybe. They now all work on solo projects, and occasionally still play together.  Love *all* these beautiful, talented ladies So Much!!!)

12.   REO Speedwagon – Riding The Storm Out

13.   Eagles – Dust In The Wind

14.   Velvet Hammer – What You Think

15.   Bowling For Soup – 1985 (finally, something *newer*, albeit the subject matter is more than 20 years old!)

16.   Fiddler on the Roof – Tradition

17.   Wynton Marsalis – Pachelbel’s Canon for 3 Trumpets & Strings

18.   Victor Borge – Bizet’s Carmen

19.   Mozart – Eine Kleine Nachtmusik

20.   Van Morrison – Brown – Eyed Girl

Now I’m getting curious, so I’ll list still more.  Feel free to stop here (if you haven’t already), unless this has become like a train wreck for you and you just can’t tear your eyes away…  LOL

21.   Eric Clapton – Cocaine

22.   Heart – These Dreams

23.   Barry White – Let’s Get It On

24.   Eric Clapton – Acoustic Classical Guitar Solo (this is Clapton playing Classical Gas on solo guitar)

25.   XTC – Greenman

26.   Cream – Whiter Shade of Pale

27.   REO Speedwagon – Keep On Loving You

28.   Stan Getz & Astrud Gilberto – The Girl From Ipanema

29.   Victor Borge – Brahm’s Lullaby

30.    Shawn Sanders – Bartok Duet, Ruthenian Kolowejka (another very dear friend, and an extremely talented cellist)

Yep, you guessed it, I’m going to list some more…

31.    Duran Duran – Ordinary World (seeing that I’m a HUGE Duran Duran fan, it sort of surprises me that I don’t actually have very many of their songs on my player – that’s something I really need to fix, and SOON…)

32.    Apocalyptica – Requiem Of The Gods (if you have not ever heard of these guys, go do it.  They are immensely talented, with a sound that is quite unique)

33.    Julie London – As Time Goes By

34.    United States Naval Choir – Eternal Father, Strong To Save (this was the one and only song that my father requested be played at his funeral, and it always puts me in a somber mood when I hear it)

35.    Duke Ellington – Minnie The Moocher

36.    Santana with Rob Thomas – Smooth (another “newish” addition – I just love Santana’s guitar sound!)

37.    Nat King Cole – I Love You For Sentimental Reasons

38.    Victor Borge – Tea For Two & Third Man Medley

39.    Santana – Corazon Espinado

40.    Don Henley – Boys Of Summer

Okay, I think that’s probably enough.  No?  You want more?  Really?  Oh, alright, if you insist… The things I do for you people…  LOL!

41.    George Winston – Linus & Lucy (this should, by all rights, be Vince Guaraldi, but I don’t think I could find that version when I was loading the player)

42.   Santana – Samba Pa Ti

43.   Victor Borge – Minute Waltz

44.   Vanessa Williams – Colors Of The Wind from Pocahontas

45.   Chicago – Twenty Five or Six to Four

46.   Whitney Houston & Brandy – Ten Minutes Ago from Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella

47.   Shawn Sanders – Sarabande from Suite in C minor, J.S. Bach

48.   Don Henley & Bruce Hornsby – End Of The Innocence

49.   Victor Borge – Inflationary Language

50.    Julie London – Am I Blue

Now that is really all I’m going to list at this time!

