I’m supposed to list 15 interesting things about myself.  I’m not really sure I can do that, but I’ll try and see what I can come up with…  Here, for your reading pleasure, 15 things of dubious interest about your author…

1.  I’m a lifelong Austinite.  I’ve seen so much growth in this town – I remember when Northcross Mall was just a field, MoPac wasn’t there, and all the development close to the 360 bridge wasn’t there because the bridge wasn’t there yet either.

2.  When I was in 6th grade, I fell in love with the cello the first instant I saw it.

3. I once had a tiger cub sitting in my lap – it was a really cool experience!  Tiger cubs don’t actually purr – they make a sort of snuffling noise…  I really should check with my friend Richard to see if he still has those negatives so I can get copies of the pictures he took…

4. I gave birth to both of my children at home with the supervision of a midwife, surrounded by family and friends.  I’m really happy I did it this way, they were both very empowering experiences.

5. My father believed that I ought to know and understand how to use tools properly to build stuff.  I have a pretty good aptitude with tools.

6. I like to change the color of my hair with the seasons.  I like Auburn in the Fall and Winter, and a dark Blond in the Spring and Summer.  Sometimes I opt for highlights, but usually not…

7.  I had 20/10 vision for most of my life, and it was a major disappointment for me in my mid-thirties when I started to need reading glasses.  It took another 10 years before I gave in and got prescription glasses so I could see distance better.  I’m now actually contemplating contact lenses – something I *never* thought I’d do (the thought of putting something in my eye on purpose makes me terribly uncomfortable…).

8. I got drunk for the first time when I was only 14 – and my father watched me do it!  My mother was terribly upset that he’d allowed me to mix whiskey with Coke, but he figured it would be an important lesson for me, and it certainly was.  I didn’t understand what the alcohol would do to me, and I didn’t know when to stop.  I got miserably sick, and then slept for several hours.  I’m not quite sure why I didn’t have a hangover, but I certainly got the message that moderation is a GOOD thing!  In retrospect, I’m glad I had my father watching over me, and not a bunch of irresponsible teenagers who were also getting drunk and/or sick…

9. Laundry – I don’t mind sorting laundry into colors and fabric types, putting them into the wash, transferring them into the dryer, and even taking them out of the dryer.  But I absolutely despise every thing beyond that point – sorting, folding, hanging and putting away.  I’ve spent a significant portion of my adult life surrounded by piles and baskets of clean clothes…

10.  When I was in 8th grade, I had a crush on the track star in our school.  I once beat him in a foot race as the class was coming back into the school from the field after PE.  Note to self: not a good way to attract a boy’s positive attention…  😉

11. As a young girl, I took five years of ballet classes (had I stayed in ballet one year longer, I would have started wearing toe shoes – but I fell head over heels in love with the cello, and stopped taking ballet).  But I was also a tomboy, and enjoyed playing active games with the kids in the neighborhood.  Ballet had given me strong legs, so I could kick a football better than most of the boys – hence I became the place kicker on our informal neighborhood “team.”

12. I was a Daddy’s Girl growing up, and many of my tastes in life came from him.  I loved watching football games with him, and his tradition of Sunday night barbeque contributed strongly to barbeque being a comfort food for me.  The smell of pipe smoke, especially if it has a vanilla component, reminds me favorably of him, even though I know that ultimately it’s what killed him.  And he definitely influenced my tastes in music!

13. In 6th grade, I became very self-conscious that I had a unique name, and I tried to get everybody to call me Louise instead (my middle name).  I guess nobody thought of me as a Louise, and it never did stick.  Now I’m thankful, and I love having a unique name so much that I gave my daughters unique names as well.

14. In spite of the fact that I’m an extrovert and usually enjoy being the center of attention, I’m actually rather shy.  I find it difficult to start conversations with new people, especially when there’s somebody else around that I know – it’s so much easier to stick with my friend(s) than to get out of my comfort zone and make new friends.

15. I am socially *very* liberal.  I believe everybody should be able to live the life they choose, to love whom they love, to marry whomever they wish, to have all the same opportunities granted to every other person, no matter their age, sex, race, religion, sexual orientation, etc.  I have friends from every walk of life: Straight, Gay, Bi, Black, White, Asian, Hispanic, Christian, Pagan, Jewish, Muslim, Hindu, Atheist, Agnostic, Democrat, Republican, Independent, Cat owner, Dog owner, Fish owner, Home Owner, Renter, Male, Female, Transgender, Artist, Engineer, Writer, Musician, Banker, Restaurateur, Single, Married, Divorced…  It’s easy to find common ground with all of them and put aside our differences.  Sometimes that means we simply don’t engage in discussions on topics on which we violently disagree, sometimes it means that we open each other’s eyes to new perspectives, sometimes it means we comfort one another with the knowledge that we are not alone.

So there’s my list.  Not sure how interesting it is, but there it is anyway.

