Which book(s) do I love enough to read again and again and again?

Hmm.  There have been several books that I’ve read more than once, and I’m quite certain I can NOT list them *all*.  It might be easier for me to list authors or series than individual books.

I’ve read all of Robert Heinleins books multiple times – at least 3 or 4 for most of them…

I read some of Anne Rices Vampire books more than once, but I haven’t read anything of hers lately.

I’ve read Lord of The Rings twice, and The Hobbit once, but never could get into The Silmarillion…

I’ve read the first 4 Harry Potter books twice, and the rest of the series I’ve read once.

Terri Windling and Ellen Datlow put together a series of collections of dark fantasy short stories, including Snow White, Blood Red; Black Swan, White Raven; Ruby Slippers, Golden Tears.  I’ve re-read those books at least 2 or 3 times, among others in a similar vein.

One of my earliest introductions to the sci-fi / fantasy genre was The Warlock in Spite of Himself, by Christopher Stasheff.  I think I got it for Christmas one year, and I read it again and again, wishing there was more to the story.  Many years later, I found out that the WAS a whole series, and I read many of them more than once, too (although I don’t think I ever got to the end of the series)…

Another early introduction was On A Pale Horse by Piers Anthony, and I’ve read the Incarnations of Immortality series two or three times.  I don’t love all of Mr. Anthonys work, but I really enjoyed the complicated interrelationships of all his charactes in this series.

Robert Jordans Wheel of Time series is another example where I’ve re-read earlier books but only read the later books once, as is Lauren K. Hamiltons series centered around Meredith Gentry – I’ll sometimes re-read earlier books to remind myself of the characters and storylines prior to moving forward in a series.

Yes, it’s true, most of the books I love enough to read again and again fall into the sci-fi/fantasy genre.  I could probably go on, but I’d have to get up and walk across the room to my bookshelf to find more examples, and I’m pretty comfortable on the couch just now.

