I’ve never been particularly good about Resolutions, but I recognize that I need to make some serious changes in my life.  For me, I need to make myself publicly accountable.  In October of 2009, I embarked on a 30-day Nutritional Detox program, with the goal of losing some weight and gaining some energy.  I wrote about my progress on Facebook every single day, and I found that really helped.

I do have some things I wnat to incorporate into my life much more reegularly in 2012, so it’s entirely possible that I’ll be blogging more frequently on those various topics.

One thing I want and need to practice more regularly is Meditation and Self-Hypnosis.  I feel much more connected to my life and to my Joy when I do this at least 5 times a week.  I find the mornings to be the most conducive times for this, before my girls wake up.  Sadly, I’m NOT really a morning person, myself, and I often find myself opting for 30 more minutes of sleep instead of that necessary mental / physical / spriritual exercise.

Another is to eat (and drink!) more mindfully.  I tend to get very busy during the day, to the point where I often only eat 1 meal a day.  With everything I know about healthful eating practices, I know I need to be eating at least 3 meals a day, and probably more like 5 or 6 small meals throughout the day.  I also need to drink a LOT more water and cut back on my coffee intake dramatically.  For me, it’s not the caffeine that’s the problem, but the large amounts of sugar and cream I take with my coffee…  Plus, when I drink coffee every day, it tends to upset my stomach.

I’ve come to realize, though, that I seem to be addicted to sugar.  If I don’t drink my coffee, I’m much more likely to grab a chai (also very sweet and creamy) or a soda (the real thing, thanks, no diet stuff for me), or to eat foods loaded with empty calories.  So it’s my intention to pay much closer attention to what I’m eating and drinking, and how much.  I do need to allow myself some room for indulgence, or I’ll fall off the wagon in a big way.

Yet another thing I need to change is the amount of movement I engage in.  I enjoy walking, and I’ve been eyeing the gangs of bicyclists that roam my mother’s neighborhood at all hours of the day.  When it’s warm enough (and the public pools are open), I like to swim.  I’ve got some Pilates DVDs, and dancing is always fun.   There’s certainly no shortage of things I *could* be doing to burn calories and keep myself flexible and strong – it’s just a matter of actually getting off the couch and DOING them!

And finally, housekeeping.  This isn’t something I enjoy, or prioritize.  I have piles of clean laundry because I hate doing anything laundry-related once it’s come out of the dryer (everything up to that point is fine, for some reason).  Dishes tend to pile up more than I’d like.  And my recycling bin is overflowing, waiting to be taken outside to the big can.  I want to set a better example to my girls, so I’m committing to spending some time EACH DAY to getting my house looking more like a home.

I’m not comfortable saying that I’m making New Year’s Resolutions to manage these things I’ve stated above, but I will say that I’m keeping them at the top of my priority list.  To keep me honest, I’ll plan to blog on these topics at least a few times a week.

