I miss my eyesight.  But I already wrote about that, a little bit, a few days ago.

One thing I *REALLY* miss is being able to eat and/or drink just about anything without worrying about gaining weight.  I was downright scrawny as a kid.  I weighed 115 when I was 18 years old, and jumped up about 10 pounds to a rather comfortable 125 throughout my entire 20s.  While I wasn’t extremely sedentary, I wasn’t particulary active, either.  My metabolism slowed down a bit right around my 30th birthday, and aside from my 2 pregnancies, I maintained a steady 135 for that entire decade.

And then I hit 40.

In the last 7 years, my weight has crept up on me in a way that I’m not very happy about.  In October of 2010, I undertook a 30 day nutritional cleanse program.  I lost 12 pounds, and within the next 2 weeks I shed another 3.  I kept off those 15 pounds through the holidays, and was rather pleased with myself, but in 2011, I managed to gain them all back again.

I’m not 20 anymore, nor am I 30.  I can not eat and drink with impunity.  I can’t sit on my butt and be lazy.  I have to pay attention to what (and how much!) I eat and drink, and I have to become more active.  I’ve already discussed that a bit in a post about Resolutions, but I haven’t really put it into practice very well just yet.

That needs to change.

