I went to a Networking meeting on Monday, and the topic of the talk was Productivity Thieves That Keep You From Your Goal.  There were a few principles discussed that are supposed to help one re-energize a goal.  I’ve had a back-burner goal of losing weight, but I’ve re-activated that goal and refined it.  My new goal is to lose 20 pounds by June 26, and I’ve committed to a public weigh-in in mid-June, so I’d better get working!

One of the principles discussed was putting a timeframe on the goal, and I’ve done that.  Another was something she called Right Before Wrong.  The example she gave for herself was “I can have a bagel, but only after I’ve eaten a full dinner-size salad.”  I’ve adapted that to my struggles with drinking plenty of water every day – I can have a glass of wine in the evening, but only if I’ve drunk a full 2 litres of water during the day.  I can also have coffee on the weekend as long as I’ve exercised every day during the week.

Another principle was essentially boiled down to Small Bites.  Instead of committing, for example, an entire hour and a half at the gym, she told herself she would go for “just 5 minutes” (which inevitably ended up turning into a longer workout once she got there and started enjoying herself).  I’m using a similar principle, telling myself that I will walk at least a mile, or bike at least 3 miles, or do some other form of exercise (such as Pilates) for at least 20 minutes every day.

I’ve also reluctantly had to admit to myself that I’ll do better if I keep a food log (*grumble*).

I know that I do better with these sorts of things when I make my journey public, so I’m going to be blogging about my activities.  I’m going to try to do this every day, but I think I know myself better than that…  So with that, here’s how I’ve done so far:

Monday night I had a large spinach salad with broccoli and carrots with balsamic vinegar and some chicken.  I drank probably a liter of water.

Tuesday morning I ate an Access Bar (a product from Melaleuca which is designed to access body fat during a workout) and walked about two miles before going to work.  I had a sushi roll for lunch (gotta remember to make my rolls with less rice in the future).  I drank 2 full liters of water before 5:30, so I had wine with dinner, which was a salad, and a bowl of red beans and rice soup from Newks.  I had a glass of milk before bed.

Wednesday morning, I walked a mile before going to trio rehearsal.  I went to lunch with the girls and had one and a half sushi rolls and a cup of miso soup.  I drank 2 liters of water through the day.  I had a cup of sushi rice for dinner (really need to cut down on the starches).

This morning, I’ve eaten an Access bar and done 20 minutes of Pilates.  I’m about to have a protein shake and head off to work, where I’ll also have my 2 liter bottle of water to drink from during the day.  I’ll report on my food intake later…

