Saturday evening, I decided to go for a walk around my neighborhood – the heat of the day had dissipated, and there was a very pleasant breeze blowing.  I grabbed my Exerstrider poles and headed out the door.  A few days earlier, I had decided to incorporate my 7th Path Self Hypnosis into my walks as well, as a form of walking meditation.

Walking with poles is a bit different from walking without poles.  It activates muscles in the upper body that aren’t typically engaged while walking.  It stabilizes the hips, knees and ankles.  It burns more calories.  And it increases oxygen consumption.  I’m going to start carrying my poles with me in my car again, because while I enjoy walking in my neighborhood, I do most of my walking in my Moms neighborhood.

On this particular night, I had forgotten about the increased oxygen consumption.  Between the rhythm of walking, my enjoyment of the glorious, quiet night, and my walking meditation, I was quite giddy when I arrived back home – about 1.6 miles later.  I felt a particularly strong sense of peaceful well-being during my self hypnosis, and almost got weepy from the overwhelming sense of empowerment.  

This particular form of self hypnosis is a very structured approach, consisting of 9 Recognitions (or statements) that engage the entire Being (body, mind, spirit) in the process.  It’s designed to Empty The Cup (getting rid of old baggage, limiting beliefs, negative programming, etc) and to Fill The Cup (discover and renew and strengthen your connection with your Higher Self, your Higher Power, your Higher Purpose in this life).  It’s most powerful when used Every Day.  Ordinarily, one would sit or lie down in a quiet place for 20 minutes – this generally helps with getting the conscious mind out of the way so the subconscious can come out to play.  But it has the added benefit of being a very powerful set of Waking Affirmations, and I find that when my body is engaged in the rhythm of walking, I can often get into that hypnotic state quite easily.

I’ve been using the 7th Path Self Hypnosis system this week to help keep me on track with drinking 2 liters of water every day, exercising every day (although I skipped yesterday – my actual goal is to exercise at least 5 times a week, so I don’t feel bad for missing one day), and eating responsibly every day.  Most of the time, when I do the self hypnosis, I don’t tend to get what I would consider “profound” thoughts or feelings or results.

But Saturday night felt very profound to me.  Part of it, I’m sure, was being a little drunk on oxygen, but I know that a significant part of it was the deep and powerful connection I felt with my Purpose.  I’m reminded that I am Powerful when I operate from a place of Love and Joy.  I’m reminded that I really can Change The World, starting with my own little corner of it and working outward, touching one person at a time with Love.

