It’s been almost 11 years since I first experienced hypnosis – a friend of mine introduced me to Hypno Birthing while I was pregnant with my 2nd child.  I opted to have both of my deliveries at home with a midwife, and with hypnosis, I felt so much more relaxed and in control than I had been with my first.  In spite of the fact that it was a more physically challenging and difficult birth, I never got stressed.

Several months later, I answered an advertisement in the Help Wanted section of the paper, searching for a Hypnotist (Will Train…) for a local weight loss center.  I interviewed, and hit it off rather well with the owner, although he ended up hiring someone else who actually had previous experience.  Several months later again, they called me back and asked if I was still interested (it hadn’t worked out with the other person).  I *jumped* at the opportunity, and I have never looked back.

I didn’t expect to find out that this career would be So Very Rewarding.  I didn’t expect to discover that I’m actually really good at listening to people, helping them discover the beauty within themselves and guiding them to change their lives for the better.  I didn’t expect to learn that answering a simple ad in the paper could have such a profound effect on my life and the lives of my clients.

The human mind is such a fascinating, powerful place, and I never cease to be amazed at the different things we can accomplish when we have the “right” programs in place.  I can’t describe how deeply it affected me to have a client tell me that he experienced a greater breakthrough after a handful of sessions with me than he had in three YEARS of talk therapy.  Or how delightful it was to hear a student pilot tell me that he was able to overcome his sudden-onset fear of flying so he could complete his training and attain his life-long goal of attaining his pilots license.  I was tremendously honored to assist an extreme germophobe reclaim her life – she went from not being willing to play outside with her children or to let them have a puppy, destroying her tooth enamel with excessive use of mouthwash, and refusing to be intimate with her husband, to fully engaged in gardening with her family, adopting a dog and reconnecting with her husband sexually.  One of my favorite client success stories is a young woman who finally kicked a heroin addiction after two failed rehab attempts.

I do tend to connect emotionally with my clients – after all, they’re opening up and sharing very intimate details of their lives with me.  When I first meet with my clients, I always warn them to have a box of tissues handy – at least 95% of my clients end up with tears streaming down their faces.  I joke that I often feel like a bit of a sadist, because while I don’t necessarily “enjoy” watching them cry, I know that when they do, there is powerful work going on deep down inside, and that kind of release is healthy!  One of the more heartbreaking things I ever heard from a client was the *conscious* assertion that “these things just happen” and that you “just have to accept it and move on with your life.”  He was referring to the fact that he was raped by 2 men when he was only 4 years old, something for which he felt a great deal of shame.  With a non-judgmental approach and a firm yet gentle assurance that he was NOT at fault and there was NOTHING wrong with him, I was able to help him forgive those men, his uncle (who had brought him to the place where it happened and might have been indirectly involved) and himself – thus for the first time TRULY being able to move on with his life after firmly putting that incident in the past where it belongs.

In addition to these examples, I’ve helped many people change their lives by eliminating bad habits and adding good ones – clients have come to me to lose weight, to stop smoking, stop biting their nails, overcome fears, experience pain-free childbirth, improve confidence and even to have better sex lives!  The methods I use are the most modern, powerful techniques available in hypnosis today, and my clients all report greatly enhanced self esteem and self confidence as a result of our sessions, and THAT is why I do what I do.

Everybody deserves to know the truth about themselves – that they ARE good enough, that they DO deserve to have good things in life.  It’s my mission to help everybody discover this truth.

